RSS

Forgetting and Rediscovering Popular Artists

15 Dec
8a41733d84da72d3188804e040bfc731

Bob Hope and Bing Crosby in one of their Road To movies

Yesterday I read a very intriguing article from the Wall Street Journal called “Famous Today, Forgotten Tomorrow,” by Jim Fusilli. With the recent PBS documentary, Bing Crosby Rediscovered, and a new biography of Bob Hope called Hope: Entertainer of the Century, Mr. Fusilli was struck by the ephemeral nature of fame. Bing Crosby and Bob Hope were as famous and important in their day as the Beatles were in Mr. Fusilli’s and he wonders “how future generations will think of the musicians of the ’60s who advanced popular music in their time.”

He goes on to remark that “As difficult as it may be for some to consider, it is likely that a day will come when people won’t value highly today’s long-standing rock-and-pop giants.” He mentions the Beatles, Bob Dylan and Stevie Wonder. “Enamored with their own heroes, it is unlikely that these generations to come will intuit the breadth and importance of the great ’60s songwriting musicians unless prompted by biographies that revive context and do so with an emphasis on the brilliance of their art.”

It is a sad reflection; the entertainers who are so important in our lives, often mean very little to our children and grandchildren. But then, the ’60s generation had very little use for their parent’s music, so it cannot be surprising when their children feel the same way. As Alexander Pope once said in his An Essay on Criticism: “We think our fathers fools, so wise we grow; our wiser sons no doubt will think us so.” We could substitute ‘fools’ with ‘fuddy-duddy’ or ‘out-of-touch,’ except it would mess up the metre.

And sadly, I think Mr. Fusilli’s fears are coming true already. I am in my mid-twenties – though I realize that I am not the most culturally aware person in the world – and Bob Dylan and Stevie Wonder are only names to me. I don’t know what they’ve sung or what they look like or what their importance in popular music is. My father knew. I asked him about them after reading the article and he was able to tell me about Dylan, at least, and sing me several of his songs.

Now I have to be honest, here; I’m a little prejudiced. I don’t like ’60s music or ’60s movies or books written after the 1960s (except nonfiction; I truly believe that nonfiction keeps getting better and better written and more engaging). As far as I’m concerned, the ’60s ruined everything, artistically speaking (as my Dad said to me, “tell us how you really feel about it”). I think it’s a form of rebellion. My parents’ generation were so revolutionary that there’s nothing left for my generation to do but become reactionary.

But since I don’t really like contemporary music (too close to the ’60s), there was nothing for me to do but go backwards: Classical Music, Opera, Gregorian Chant, Jazz, Big Band, the Great American Songbook.

The trouble with the 1960s-70s is that it is both too old and too new – too old for me to remember and too new for it too feel like a cool new discovery because I am still living in the world they created. But when I discovered the 1920s-40s, it was like a whole new world opening up before me, and I fell in love.

The Beatles

The Beatles

But this made me realize something else. Often times, people who are huge in their own era are forgotten, discounted in the next generation, and rediscovered in the following one. This happened to Bach. In the Baroque era, Johann Sebastian Bach enjoyed an excellent reputation as one of the premier composers (and organists) of the era. After he died, during the Classical Era when Mozart and Haydn reigned, his work was considered fusty. But many composers still knew and admired him and his works and reputation were revived, especially by Felix Mendelssohn, who was a Romantic Era composer. And now, most everyone has at least heard of Bach; he is so identified with his era that the Baroque Period is considered to have ended with his death. He seems about as established as Shakespeare, Mozart, Homer, and Michelangelo. People may not always understand his significance, but he has become an integral part of our cultural language.

Of course, Bach is really the only Baroque composer we remember today, unless you are a student of Baroque music. But in Bach, his era and the musical and cultural innovations of his era live and he serves as a portal for anyone who is intrigued by him and wishes to learn more.

Perhaps at some point Bing Crosby will become the Bach of his era. Perhaps we will only remember the Beatles from their era, but at least today we still have the recordings and books are being written, which means that anyone who wishes to discover more will have a very easy time of it.

Because as much as I complain about how much I feel like a woman out of time, I live in precisely the right time. There has never been a better time to be a Great American Songbook or Classic movie fan or lover of classic literature. Ebooks and sites like The Gutenberg Project mean I can find almost any book I want in the public domain and download it (any book before 1923) and even books not in the public domain have proved extremely easy to find, whether through buying them (used or new) or getting them through an inter-library loan (the best way ever!). And no longer are we limited to watching those few classical movies that are shown on TV. Now, a whole new set of films are being discovered, partially thanks to TCM. New classic movies are being restored and released every year on DVD and Blue-ray and I have seen many more on YouTube that aren’t out on DVD yet. It’s the same with music. YouTube has truly revolutionized our ability to discover and share culture. There are songs, TV clips, movie clips, full movies, interviews, tributes, documentaries. And I have been very pleased at the number of biographies written about the composers and singers I love.

I was reading a book by Michael Feinstein, a singer who has dedicated his life to preserving and sharing The Great American Songbook, and when he was a boy, not only was it not cool to like that kind of music, but it was also much more difficult to find that kind of music. He had to haunt dusty shops looking for old records. Now, it has been so remarkably easy for me to expose myself to my favorite era and fortunately, even if my generation or the next generation should discount the ’60s, it should be just as easy for subsequent ones to discover them again.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2014 in Miscellaneous Music Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Forgetting and Rediscovering Popular Artists

  1. pscapp

    December 16, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    Life goes on Obladi Oblada. I’m in my 60’s and sometimes perform at a retirement community where the average age in the audience is well into 70 – 80 years old. I play songs like Route 66, Satin Doll and other great tunes from the songbook. I wonder if when I’m in my 80’s some youngster will come along and sing Beatles songs so I can remember my youth.

    Like

     
    • christinawehner

      December 16, 2014 at 5:02 pm

      You make a wonderful point and it’s so lovely that you perform at the retirement community! It would be tragic if, in pride, I or my generation refused to learn or understand anything about the music our parents sang – that would be selfish. Most of what I know comes from my father, who will hear a song playing in a movie or commercial and tell me who sang it and maybe find it for me on youtube to hear. I think it’s through him that I do know the song “Obladi Oblada.” 🙂

      Like

       
      • pscapp

        December 17, 2014 at 8:54 am

        I get to meet a lot of people and hear many stories about life in the 1940’s. I played an open mic last night and performed – Satin Doll – Duke Ellington, Route 66 – Bobby Troup, I Will – The Beatles, Almost Like Being in Love – Brigadoon and I Got Rhythm – George & Ira Gershwin. It was a pretty eclectic and dated set ranging from the 1920-s through the late 60’s. The crowd seemed appreciative although I was clearly the oldest person in the room. I’m trying to fill the gaps in their musical educations. In the long run the good stuff holds up. Glad you appreciate the good stuff.

        Like

         
        • christinawehner

          December 18, 2014 at 10:12 am

          Thanks! That sounds like an awesome night! I’ve been gradually coming to the conviction that American music history is just as important as literature and really should be taught more often, in schools even.

          Liked by 1 person

           

What Are Your Thoughts?

 
