RSS

Sorry for the Absence of Posts!

20 Aug

I’ve suddenly become really busy in the past few weeks and feel a bit guilty about the sharp drop off of posts. It’s not for lack of things to write about. I’ve planned a post about Frank Capra, big band music, the 1968 The Planet of the Apes, and Citizen Kane. I just haven’t had time to write them. I think they’re going to trickle out a bit slowly. Come early September, instead of the three posts a week I used to write, I’m going to write two…but they should at least be regularly released.

I just wanted everyone to know that although my posts may be a bit spotty in the next few weeks, I am not abandoning writing!

In lieu of real posts, I thought I would share this video. It is from Down Argentine Way with the Nicholas Brothers, who seemed to combine in the most perfect way class with acrobatics and tap dancing.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2016 in Movies

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Sorry for the Absence of Posts!

  1. Erin

    August 20, 2016 at 6:54 pm

    No problem! Your posts are always so well-written and interesting, and I’m amazed that you can keep up that pace. You certainly deserve a bit of a break!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      August 20, 2016 at 7:46 pm

      Thank you so much! It has been delightful to write and to learn what everyone else has to say, too.

      I guess I started at a pace I should have guessed would be impossible to keep up. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Vienna

    August 21, 2016 at 12:08 am

    Love that Nicholas Brothers link. They were amazing.
    Twice a week will be just fine!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      August 21, 2016 at 6:59 pm

      Thanks! I know what you mean…I never cease to feel awe and amazement, no matter how many times I see them dance. 🙂

      Like

       
  3. FictionFan

    August 21, 2016 at 3:04 pm

    Looking forward to seeing your post on Citizen Kane. Blogging can become a chore if we’re not careful – I find frequent breaks work best for me but often consider cutting down the number of posts per week instead. Do whatever feels right for you, that lets you keep on enjoying it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      August 21, 2016 at 7:05 pm

      Thanks for the great advice! That’s a good idea about breaks. It is funny how compulsive posting can become…I feel like I missed something when I don’t do it. 🙂 The other thing I start to feel bad about is how many posts by other people I miss.

      I’m looking forward to writing about Citizen Kane! I thought it would be best to take your advice and see the movie before reading the book about it (the library is buying the book) and I took tons of notes so I wouldn’t forget what I wanted to say. 🙂

      Like

       
      • FictionFan

        August 22, 2016 at 9:50 am

        Yes, I know what you mean about missing other people’s posts. I’m making a real effort to stop feeling guilty about that when I take a break, and not trying to backtrack too much when I come back. It’s hard to get a balance, isn’t it? But I see so many people just stop blogging completely and I’d hate to do that just because I’d let it all get too much for me.

        It’ll be interesting to see if the book changes your opinion – I certainly feel I know and appreciate the film much better now, even if I still don’t love it.

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • christinawehner

          August 23, 2016 at 7:07 pm

          Yes, that’s a good point about not wanting to stop completely….and the backtracking. I think one could make a life of blogging and reading.

          I think I’m going to end up in your camp about Citizen Kane. There seemed like a lot to admire, but it was hard to really like any character or feel deeply invested in what happened to them. I seem to have that reaction to all of Orson Welles’ films; it’s made me wonder what’s up with that…is it me or him?

          Liked by 1 person

           
  4. carygrantwonteatyou

    August 21, 2016 at 5:56 pm

    Not sure how you keep up with close to that many! I fell behind on my weekly posts this summer and am thinking of switching to biweekly or even every less frequently (so that I can alternate w/a new one I want to start). I always enjoy yours. I’ll take em whenever I get them:)

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      August 21, 2016 at 7:20 pm

      Thanks so much! It does feel so much harder during the summer to keep up with the posting schedule. I think I’ve been a little too compulsive about it.

      I wish you much luck and success with your new blog!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  5. August 25, 2016 at 5:07 pm

    Hey, Christina, another reason to come back to blogging:I’d like to invite you to join the At The Circus blogathon that I’m co-hosting! More details here: https://t.co/q4jTAeyGi8
    Kisses!
    Le

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Silver Screenings

    August 28, 2016 at 6:04 am

    I’m glad you’re going to set a different blogging pace. I’ve seen a few excellent bloggers burn themselves out by posting every day or every other day – and I’d hate to see that happen to you.

    As for the Nicholas Brothers, they are pure magic. Thanks for sharing the link!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      August 28, 2016 at 2:02 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement! It’s funny how one can get into a rhythm of posting and when the rhythm is broken, it’s hard to get back into it. For a while there, I was feeling invincible…then reality then sank in. 🙂

      That’s so true about the Nicholas Brothers….it must have been so exhilarating to see them live!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. Leah Williams

    August 30, 2016 at 4:38 am

    Great to see you on the CMBA membership list!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Michaela

    September 6, 2016 at 8:36 pm

    I know what you mean — I didn’t post anything in July and I still feel a little guilty. I can’t believe the output of some of the bloggers I follow. Where do they find the time?

    I know you’re busy, but I really wanted to invite you to my very first blogathon. (Only if you have the time, of course!)
    http://loveletterstooldhollywood.blogspot.com/2016/09/announcing-vincente-minnelli-blogathon.html?m=1

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      September 6, 2016 at 9:53 pm

      Vincente Minnelli – how exciting! Congratulations and well-wishes for your first blogathon! I would love to participate – thanks!

      Like

       

What Are Your Thoughts?

 
