RSS
Aside
28 Mar

I realized after writing my post that I had  not expressed my thought completely. Perhaps instead of calling it “rules of the genre” I should have called it “rules of expression.” Different art forms have different rules about how one’s thoughts and feelings are expressed. For example, in poetry there are rules about rhyme and meter. In ballet, there are rules about movement and music without words. In silent films, the rules of expression involve images, mime, and music. I think musicals simply create a different world, with different rules. Just like a fantasy creates a different world with its own rules: magic and dragons and special abilities. I guess I feel that if one can accept magic, why not song?

Though I totally understand if one is not into dance or song. If you don’t like ballet, then The Red Shoes is probably not for you. If you don’t like lots of action/fight sequences, then probably not Avengers. Do you not like gangster violence? Probably not Scarface. But that puts it down to preferences, not something inherently wrong with musicals.

Further Thoughts on Reality and Rules of Genre

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Further Thoughts on Reality and Rules of Genre

  1. Candi Merrill

    March 28, 2017 at 12:54 pm

    I can completely suspend my disbelief when a film character bursts into song because I know it’s just one way of conveying that character’s feelings. I grew up with Oklahoma! and the Music Man and My Fair Lady, and I buy into them. For me, it is an utter stretch to watch films with car chase scenes, particularly those that go on and on, sideswiping parked vehicles, narrowly missing pedestrians and jumping bridges that are just about to open, particularly when no one looks out at the chaos to see what’s happening and no cops ever show up on the scene. Now, that, to me, is unbelievable! Perhaps believability, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      March 28, 2017 at 3:51 pm

      That’s a great point about the car chases – the police never seem to be there when one needs them!

      That could be. As you say, maybe we just pick the things we choose to believe in? I grew up with musicals, too. Could it be that growing up with musicals helps one willingly buy it? Maybe growing up with musicals is like growing up in a bilingual household – it’s easier to learn the language.

      Like

       

What Are Your Thoughts?

 
