RSS

8 responses to ““Shine On Your Shoes”

  1. Vienna

    May 20, 2016 at 9:58 am

    Thanks for highlighting this terrific number and putting the video link too.
    For me, everything in the Band Wagon is perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      May 20, 2016 at 11:12 am

      Yes, I share your sentiment! And it never does seem to get old – the dances always feel fresh.

      Like

       
  2. Charles W. Callahan

    May 20, 2016 at 1:24 pm

    Nice blogging. I saw The Bandwagon at the New Yorker Theater, a revival house, years ago.

    These pictures deserved to be seen on the big screen. The audience goes wild usually.

    Keep up the nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      May 20, 2016 at 2:43 pm

      Thank you! I think I would go wild if I got to see the Band Wagon on the big screen, too! It must have been a wonderful experience. The few films I’ve seen on the big screen (so far none in Technicolor, alas) have been so worth it.

      Like

       
  3. Movie Movie Blog Blog

    May 20, 2016 at 3:11 pm

    Nice blog entry! I’ve seen that movie (it’s the all-time fave musical of my best friend from high school) but had no idea about the history of the shoeshine guy. And like you (but for different reasons, I suspect), my shoeshine is a haircut. There’s a bosomy woman I go to who always gives me a great cut and manages to drape herself over me in barely-legal ways. It’s as sexually satisfying as I can ever get without sex.

    Like

     
    • christinawehner

      May 20, 2016 at 8:22 pm

      Yeah, it was fascinating to learn about Leroy Daniels and how doing the movie allowed him to change careers from shoe shiner to nightclub entertainer!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Joe Thompson

    May 24, 2016 at 9:06 pm

    Hi Christina. That was a good essay on one of my favorite numbers. I did not know that Leroy Daniels was a real shoe shine man. I splurge on a shoe shine once in a while, just to give some support to one of the people along Market Street in San Francisco. I always feel better after chatting with them and leaving a good tip.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      May 24, 2016 at 10:04 pm

      That’s awesome! It sounds like Fred Astaire really knew what he was singing about (or Howard Dietz what he was writing lyrics about). Thanks for the kind words!

      Like

       

What Are Your Thoughts?

 
