RSS

What Kind of an “Old Fashioned Girl” are You?

27 Mar

I’ve been listening to two diametrically opposed songs about being “old fashioned,” so I have thought I would share these two songs and ask people which one they most identify with? You can even say both or none!

“I’m Old Fashioned” was composed by Jerome Kern, with lyrics by Johnny Mercer for the movie You Were Never Lovelier, starring Fred Astaire and Rita Hayworth. Rita Hayworth’s character sings the song, but her voice was dubbed by Nan Wynn. The song is then followed by a lovely, romantic dance between Astaire and Hayworth. Simply gorgeous.

I absolutely cannot resist this next song. “Just an Old Fashioned Girl” was written by Marve A. Fisher and is most associated with Eartha Kitt. Younger generations might know her for providing the voice of Yzma in The Emperor’s New Groove, She also played Catwoman in the TV series Batman in 1967. This song is utterly, wickedly delightful.

So, which kind of an “old fashioned” person are you? I confess that I probably am more old fashioned in the Jerome Kern/Johnny Mercer fashion, but secretly wish to be old fashioned like Eartha Kitt.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2019 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “What Kind of an “Old Fashioned Girl” are You?

  1. The Animation Commendation

    March 28, 2019 at 8:03 am

    What girl wouldn’t want to be the “Old Fashioned Girl” that Kitt sings about, lol?

    Thanks for introducing me to this song, I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      March 28, 2019 at 12:52 pm

      It’s such a catchy song – I sang it all last evening and am trying to learn the words. I know what you mean…how could one not want to be like her. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. The Animation Commendation

    March 28, 2019 at 12:35 pm

    Btw, I discovered this amazing song today called ‘Old Fashioned Gal’. It’s a new song that came out last year by an artist named Kat Edmonson, but I feel it fits your theme of this post perfectly and I was just grinning from ear to ear while watching this song and hearing her beautiful voice and the smart lyrics. Thought you’d be interested in it too!

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • christinawehner

      March 28, 2019 at 12:58 pm

      That is awesome! Thanks for sharing. I can totally relate to the lyrics and it definitely fits with the theme perfectly. She makes being old fashioned very appealing.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. Silver Screenings

    March 29, 2019 at 6:19 am

    The Eartha Kitt song you posted made me wonder why I don’t listen to her all the time. What a great voice!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • christinawehner

      March 29, 2019 at 1:38 pm

      So true! I actually didn’t know anything about her and only started listening to her after reading a book about great pop and jazz singers

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Megan

    April 16, 2019 at 2:47 am

    Hi!
    I had a friend whose name was Meyrick but people were mispronouncing her name. Some called her Mee-rick or I don’t know what. At the end of the day, she started using her nickname. So, I understand how you feel.
    Looking forward to reading your articles!

    Like

     
  5. Megan

    April 16, 2019 at 2:55 am

    The track by Rita Hayworth and Fred Astaire reminds me of those songs in Disney movies, the ones the princesses usually sing when they are waiting for the prince to come. I think, just because of that I would choose it.

    Like

     
  6. Realweegiemidget Reviews

    July 10, 2019 at 9:24 am

    Hi there,

    Just a wee message to officially congratulate you on this blogging award – look forward to hearing your nominations and answers for these questions,

    NEWS… Flashback to 2016, for a Sunshine Blogger Award

    Gill from Realweegiemidget Reviews

    Like

     

What Are Your Thoughts?